Top 5 Reasons to Blog

Photo by Kristina B. via Flickr

Mark Schaefer recently listed his top 7 reasons job-seekers should be blogging. After reading Schaefer’s list, which I agree with, I began to think…what are my top 5 reasons for blogging? I decided that I should make my own list of reasons to blog and provide some insight into why I’m blogging. Without further ado, here are my top 5 reasons for blogging:

1.) It’s mandatory. This blog is an assignment for one of my Public Relations courses at the University of Oregon, but that isn’t what I mean when I say that it’s mandatory. As Schaefer mentions in his list, many jobs now expect you to know how to blog and do it well. Blogging skills are becoming mandatory for many positions, and since I hope to one day have a job and not have to call my mother for rent money, I might as well start practicing now.

2.) Engaging audiences. Creating exceptional content engages readers, which is what blogging is all about. I hope to engage a variety as readers, and maybe if I’m lucky a potential employer or two.

3.) Building a network. I would love to be able to build a network through my blogging experience, and I’m not speaking solely in terms of finding a job. The blogging community has many different neighborhoods, and I hope to make a friend on each block, so to speak.

4.) Gaining knowledge. They say knowledge is power, right? Well…the more blogs and articles you read, the more you know. To be a successful blogger, knowledge of your subject is essential. I plan to have a career in sports public relations, so it is imperative that I know as much as possible about it. My success as a blogger and professional depend on it.

5.) To become an Internet celebrity. Who doesn’t want to be famous? Seriously though, establishing and building a personal brand are just as important as creating great content. The larger your audience, the larger your potential influence. This also ties back to engaging audiences and building a network. If you’ve done those things, and have established a loyal following, then a potential employer may realize that they should really consider you as someone with a knowledge of what it takes to create a buzz or a brand.

Those are my reasons for being a part of the blogosphere. What are yours?

Leave a Reply

